The waiting game

Remember the days when you wished that time would hurry up so you could be an adult and do adult things and wear adult clothes and have an adult life like they have in the movies?

Time moved so slowly back then.

Not now though, time now moves quickly – too quickly.

As soon as you become an adult time speeds up. I have been complaining about how fast this year has been going by, but actually, it’s been the past decade that has been going by at warp speed.

Until today. Today I notice how slowly the past month has been moving. I am just as busy with work as I have been over the past year, but all of a sudden time has begun to drag.

“Is it really only September still?” I moaned to myself this morning.

Why is time suddenly moving at the speed of snail?

It’s because I have something to look forward to now. Just like a did as a teen waiting for the day I would be an adult, I am now waiting for the day I will move to London.

image

Sure, I have plenty of things to do before I leave. I’m applying for my Visa in November. I have to pack up all my belongings that I will be storing at my parents’ house. I have to determine what I am going to bring with me to London. I have to buy my plane ticket and arrange my accomodation (with a friend) for the first bit that I’m in London. I have to get my resume together and get letters of recommendation for everything. I have to spend as much time as I can with family, friends, and my furbaby (extra time with him, of course). And the list goes on and on.

But still, four months is an awfully long time to wait for something new and exciting to happen.

……….
Waiting not so patiently,
Lisa

3 thoughts on “The waiting game

Leave a Reply

